Friday, March 20, 2009

Email etiquette made easier

The folks at Google continue to prove they have a firm grip on the habits and needs of the cyber public.  Many times, their innovations are kind of scary in that "Big Brother" way -- you know, things like tracking your every move on the Internet to better pigeonhole (read: control!) you as a consumer. 


But there's a new feature they just introduced that could make your cyber/social life much easier, and maybe save a relationship -- or even your job: They added an "undo" button to their Gmail service, according to Wired.  This is a good thing!  I mean, how many times have you hit the "send" button only to realize -- "oops, shouldn't have done that!"

Let's hope the other email providers follow suit ...

2 comments:

Omega said...

Are we talking about another pop-up box for retards that says "Are You Sure You Want to Do This?" and then you have to hit yet another box that says FUCKING A!!

Tracy Allerton said...

Thabk God, no.
It's a feature in your settings menu that you can turn on. Then, it shows up as an option in the "message sent" bar after you hit send. Right now, it's only a 5-second window (soon to be 10 secs) -- but I do think it's a step in the right direction!

 
template by suckmylolly.com